Ask a Website Design Company BETA

Search Questions

Question

Fraudulent web designer
2hoursites.co.uk are also trading as monstersites.co.uk and txdesigns.co.uk I have reported 2hoursites to trading standards. The address that is on their website is fictitious. Is there any way I can find their address. Their IP address is listed as Leeds while they say they are in Manchester. Is their IP address their proper address, and if they moved around would that IP address change. I need to track this guy down, please help. Thanks

submitted by Pippa on 16 November 2011

Answers

Joint PlanGold Member Joint Plan
answered 8 questions
3 reviews
6 clients
1 articles

16 November 2011
Hi Pippa,

I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble.

Unfortunately the IP Address wont help in terms of finding the premises where this person operates from. If they move the website to another hosting company or different server, the IP would change.

I have checked and if you go to www.domaintools.com and type in monstersites.co.uk, you won't see an address but you are given a full name of the owner of that domain but that is not necessarily true.

I don't think you are the only one having trouble. I found this reference to the same company on Which Web Design Company and it doesn't look good to be honest.

http://www.whichwebdesigncompany.com/ask-a-designer/legitimate

If we can be of assistance or help with your website requirements, we'd be more than pleased to help you.

Many thanks,

Joint Plan
0800 08 07 017
www.jointplan.co.uk

Comp Tek Web DesignGold Member Comp Tek Web Design
answered 15 questions
5 reviews
8 clients
5 articles

17 November 2011
Hi Pippa,

Sorry to hear about your problems with 2hoursites.co.uk we have been hearing a lot of negative feedback and unpleasant agreements between these and their clients.

The domains have been registered as a none trading individual which is how the address information has been omitted. The rules of Whois information only allows omitted address information for non trading individuals and. It business's so therefore you can raise a complaint with Nominet who govern the .co.uk domains and inform them that the domains are incorrectly registered and they are intact a trading company. Here is a link to do so.

https://secure.nominet.org.uk/account/whois-complaint.html


If you are still in need of a website and would like an information pack please get in touch.

Thanks

Kevin Mason
www.comp-tek.co.uk
info@comp-tek.co.uk
07788 887382

Back to list of questions

Can you answer this question?

If you are a Web Design Company and you are registered at WWDC, you may answer this question.